Prof. Dr. Tim Friede

Head of the Department of Medical Statistics


telephone: +49 (0) 551 394991

fax: +49 (0) 551 394995

e-mail address: tim.friede(at)med.uni-goettingen.de

location: Humboldtallee 32, EG 124

ORCID iD: orcid.org/0000-0001-5347-7441

[Translate to Englisch:] Prof. Tim Friede an seinem Schreibtisch

Short biography

Since January 2010 Tim Friede is Professor of Biostatistics at the University Medical Center Göttingen where he heads up the Department of Medical Statistics. He graduated in Mathematics (Dipl.-Math.) from the University of Karlsruhe and obtained a PhD (Dr.sc.hum.) from the Faculty of Medicine at the University of Heidelberg. In 2001 he joined the Department of Mathematics and Statistics at Lancaster University as NHS Training Fellow in Medical Statistics and was later promoted to Lecturer in Biostatistics. From 2004 on he worked for Novartis Pharma AG, Basel before joining Warwick Medical School as Associate Professor of Medical Statistics in October 2006. In 2014 he was awarded the certificate “Biometry in Medicine” by the German Society for Medical Informatics, Biometry and Epidemiology (GMDS) and the German Region of the International Biometric Society (IBS-DR) which demonstrates his qualification as trial statistician.

Since 2015 Tim Friede is member of the Sino-German Institute for Social Computing (SGISC) which deals with interdisciplinary research in the fields of social networks and BIG DATA. The SGISC was founded jointly by the Universities of Göttingen, Germany and Nanjing, China. In the beginning of 2020 Tim Friede was elected into the board of directors of the SGISC. In 2021, Tim Friede was selected as a member of the Representative Council of the International Biometric Society. Furthermore, he was elected as a member of the Society for Research Synthesis Methodology (SRSM) at the beginning of 2021.

Since 2018 Tim Friede is President of the German Consortium in Statistics (DAGStat) an association of scientific societies and professional associations which consider the further development of statistical theory and methodology to be one of their essential tasks. From 2015-2018 he was Vice-/President of the German Region of the International Biometric Society (IBS-DR). Previously he served the German Region in various functions (as member of the international council from 2008-2013, as member of the Editorial Advisory Committee from 2008-2015 and as member of the council of the German Region from 2005-2009).

Tim Friede is Associate Editor of Statistics in Medicine (since 2021), of ESC Heart Failure (since 2019) as well as of the Annals of Applied Statistics (since 2018). From 2013-2015 he was Associate Editor and until 2020 Section Editor of PLoS ONE. Since 2012 Tim Friede is Associate Editor of the Biometrical Journal. From 2011-2016 he was also Associate Editor of BMC Medical Research Methodology. Between 2009-2011 Tim Friede was jointly with Prof. Dr. Leonhard Held (Zürich) Editor-in-Chief of the Biometrical Journal. From 2003-2011 he was a member of the Editorial Board of the Drug Information Journal.

He is principal investigator in the Deutsches Zentrum für Herz-Kreislauf-Forschung (DZHK, German centre for cardiovascular research) and also serves as trial statistician for a number of clinical studies. An overview over the ongoing research projects can be found under Research.

Tim Friede's methodological research interests are in clinical biostatistics including designs for clinical trials (in particular flexible adaptive designs) and generalized evidence synthesis (including systematic reviews and meta-analyses) as well as applications in rare diseases.

In 1999 Tim Friede was awarded the GMDS Student Prize for his diploma thesis: "Adaptive case number planning in clinical trials in the t-test situation." Shortly after in 2001 he won the Young Scientist Award by the IBS-DR with his PhD thesis on internal pilot trials.
In 2012 he was awarded the Paul-Martini-Prize promoting the development of scientific methods for the evaluation of clinical-pharmacological and therapeutic measures of the German Society for Medical Informatics, Biometry and Epidemiology (GMDS) jointly with Dr Heinz Schmidli (Novartis Pharma AG, Basel, Switzerland).

Selected Publications

In press

2021

2020

2019

2018

2017

2016

2015

2014

2013

2012

2011

2010

Follow us

Prof. Dr. Tim Friede

Direktor des Instituts für Medizinische Statistik


Telefon: 0551 394991

Telefax: 0551 394995

E-Mail: tim.friede(at)med.uni-goettingen.de

Ort: Humboldtallee 32, EG 124

ORCID iD: orcid.org/0000-0001-5347-7441

Prof. Tim Friede an seinem Schreibtisch

Kurzbiografie

Seit Januar 2010 ist Tim Friede Professor für Biostatistik an der Universitätsmedizin Göttingen, wo er das Institut für Medizinische Statistik leitet. Nach seinem Diplom in Mathematik an der Universität Karlsruhe (TH) wurde er an der Medizinischen Fakultät der Universität Heidelberg zum Dr.sc.hum promoviert. Im Januar 2001 ging er nach Lancaster ans Department of Mathematics and Statistics zunächst als NHS Training Fellow in Medical Statistics und später als Lecturer in Biostatistics. Von 2004 an arbeitete er bei der Novartis Pharma AG in Basel, bevor er im Herbst 2006 an die Warwick Medical School als Associate Professor of Medical Statistics ging. In 2014 wurde ihm das Zertifikat „Biometrie in der Medizin“ der Deutschen Gesellschaft für Medizinische Informatik, Biometrie und Epidemiologie GMDS und der Deutschen Region der Internationalen Biometrischen Gesellschaft (IBS-DR) zuerkannt, das ihn als erfahrenen Studienstatistiker ausweist.

Seit 2015 ist Tim Friede Mitglied im Sino-German Institute for Social Computing (SGISC), das sich mit interdisziplinärer Forschung in den Feldern Soziale Netze und BIG DATA beschäftigt. Das SGISC wurde gemeinsam von den Universitäten Göttingen und Nanjing, China gegründet. Anfang 2020 wurde Tim Friede in der Vorstand des SGISC gewählt. 2021 wurde Tim Friede in das Representative Council der International Biometric Society aufgenommen. Weiterhin wurde er Anfang 2021 zum Mitglied in der Society for Research Synthesis Methodology (SRSM) gewählt.

Seit 2018 ist Tim Friede Präsident der Deutschen Arbeitsgemeinschaft Statistik (DAGStat), einem Zusammenschluss von wissenschaftlichen Fachgesellschaften und Berufsverbänden, die die Fortentwicklung statistischer Theorie und Methodik zu ihren wesentlichen Aufgaben zählen. Von 2015-2018 war er Vize-/Präsident der Deutschen Region der Internationalen Biometrischen Gesellschaft (IBS-DR). Zuvor hat er der Deutschen Region sowie der internationalen Muttergesellschaft in vielfältigen Funktionen gedient (Mitglied des internationalen Councils von 2008–2013, Mitglied im Editorial Advisory Committee 2008-2015, Mitglied des Beirates der Deutschen Region von 2005-2009).

Tim Friede ist seit 2019 Associate Editor des ESC Heart Failure und seit 2018 Associate Editor der Annals of Applied Statistics. Von 2013 bis 2015 war er Associate Editor und bis 2020 Section Editor bei PLoS ONE. Seit 2012 ist Tim Friede Associate Editor des Biometrical Journal. Von 2011‑2016 war er außerdem Associate Editor bei BMC Medical Research Methodology. Zwischen 2009‑2011 war Tim Friede zusammen mit Prof. Dr. Leonhard Held (Zürich) Editor-in-Chief des Biometrical Journals. Von 2003‑2011 war er Mitglied des Editorial Boards des Drug Information Journal.

Er ist Principal Investigator im Deutschen Zentrum für Herz-Kreislauf-Forschung (DZHK) und Studienstatistiker einer Vielzahl von klinischer Studien. Eine Übersicht der laufenden Forschungsprojekte findet sich unter Forschung.

Seine methodischen Forschungsinteressen liegen in der klinischen Biostatistik mit Schwerpunkten zu Designs für klinische Studien (insbesondere flexible adaptive Designs), zur generalisierten Evidenzsynthese (inkl. systematische Reviews und Meta-Analysen) und Anwendungen in seltenen Erkrankungen.

Tim Friede wurde von der GMDS 1999 mit dem Förderpreis für Studierende für seine Diplomarbeit „Adaptive Fallzahlplanung in klinischen Studien in der t-Test-Situation“ ausgezeichnet. Wenig später erhielt er dann 2001 den Nachwuchsförderpreis der Deutschen Region der Internationalen Biometrischen Gesellschaft (IBS-DR) für seine Dissertation zu internen Pilotstudien. In 2012 wurde ihm der Paul-Martini-Preis zur Förderung der Entwicklung wissenschaftlicher Methoden zur Beurteilung klinisch-pharmakologischer und therapeutischer Maßnahmen der Deutschen Gesellschaft für Medizinische Informatik, Biometrie und Epidemiologie (GMDS) gemeinsam mit Dr. Heinz Schmidli (Novartis Pharma AG, Basel, Schweiz) verliehen.

Ausgewählte Publikationen

In press

2021

2020

2019

2018

2017

2016

2015

2014

2013

2012

2011

2010

Folgen Sie uns